My Mud

Thick mud coats the ground
Pulling at my feet
Sucking my boots to the ground
I stumble and fall
Slogging through the muck
If it gets deeper
I will surely drown
This marsh goes on
As far as I can see
The going is rough, slow
But it is mud of my own making
My messy, gooey temptation
Mixes with the dust of desire
And coats my path in mud
Pulling at my feet
Sucking my boots to the ground
Only God can clear my path
Dry up the mud
Set my feet on firm earth
Where I can walk
Without getting stuck
In mud of my own making

Leave a Reply

