Thirty Years

Thirty years ago
On a bright Easter morning
I sat beside my parents at church
Feeling a bit lonely
Was Easter just a bunny
And finding eggs and candy?
I listened close and heard
It is not.
You see, there’s this guy
Who wants to always
Play with me
Share my thoughts
Hold me close
And love me
No matter what
And never let me
Feel lonely again
And I wanted
Desperately to know him
So I closed my eye
And invited Him in
And that’s the day
Jesus came inside me to stay

Thirty years of steps
Thirty years of moments
Thirty year of breaths drawn
With my Jesus inside me

Leave a Reply

