A Christmas Poem in January

The boxes were all opened
The lights packed away
Christmas ended days ago
The tree is taken down
Resolutions have been started
Forgotten and quit
A new year has come,
But I still can’t remember
To write it down right
The drudgery of work
And life and routine
Has returned in full force
The holidays are over
What a relief
I say that out loud
But inside I feel
A piece of sadness
For the loss of the magic
The time of wonder
When everyone smiles brighter
And the world is a bit nicer
And then I go home
And see my little child
Just a pair of feet
Sticking out behind the couch
“What are you doing?”
“Look at what I found!”
Held up in a grubby hand
A bright smile claims her face
“I found Jesus.”
In three words,
I’m undone she’s said it all
With a tight hug
For my little girl
I remember what
I didn’t realize was lost
I forgot that though
The seasons will change,
I should never ever pack away
My Lord and Savior Jesus
The holidays are done
But the magic and wonder remain
Just the same way Jesus
Lives inside me every day

Leave a Reply

