Guilt and Shame

Guilt makes us see
That a thing I’ve done
Is completely wrong
Guilt can be learned from
Moved past and become
A catalyst for change

Shame is a different beast
One not easily slayed
Shame is personal
Is means who I am
Is completely wrong
And just what am I
Supposed to do with that?

I am who I am
I can change my actions
But who I am remains
Shame says I’ll never
Be okay, I’ll always be wrong
Because of who I am

I bust the shame
By remembering
That God made me
And washed away my guilt
I am clean. What is left
To cause me shame?

Washed clean of guilt
I can’t shake the feelings of shame
Feeling like I completely suck
God is the miracle that
Teaches me to live shame free
He restores me to me

Leave a Reply

