Identity

Who are you?
Wasn’t college about
Finding who you are?
Are you defined by 
Your job or your place
In your family?
Do you have any idea
Who you are?
What’s your identity?

I’m a mom, a wife
A daughter, a sister
A poet, an author, a blogger
I’m a Christian,
A child of God,
But none of these things
Is my identity
I didn’t even list 
My day job

I am a sensitive woman
With a unique view
Of the world I believe 
God created, I hope to see
With the Maker’s vision
Where each person 
Has high value
And there is beauty 
In every single thing

I am bold, yet 
Terrified to my core
To share the words
That flow out of me
Like they’re my breath
They’re parts of my soul
Meant to reach others
They’re part of me
Part of my identity

Do you know 
Who you are?
What’s your identity?

Leave a Reply

