The Distance

The space between 
My head and heart
Is just a few inches
Not so far apart
Yet that distance
Sometimes feels like
Miles and miles
At times I think
My heart and my head
Forget they’re attached
And try to flee
Further than those inches
Will ever let them be
That’s the distance 
That measures who I am
From who I want to be
And when that distance
Doesn’t seem to exist,
That is when I’m at my best
I strive to live a life
With the distance between 
My head and my heart
Behaving like its just
A few inches

Leave a Reply

