Quenched

The ground is cracked
The lakes turned to dust
Every drop of moisture
Has been absorbed
And completely used up
The ground is thirsty
For anything that
Might quench it’s
Terrible dryness
So our souls long
For the kind of rain
That heals the cracks
Fills our souls
Like lakes, rivers, and oceans
Like a thunderstorm
With drops bigger than me
God comes in
And completely
Quenches me
He fills me up
Until I overflow
Fresher than the rain
Falling on thirsty
Cracked open dirt
Is the living water
Of my Father God
My thirst is slaked
My heart is quenched
It overflows from my soul
I hope God’s love
Touches yours
My thirst is quenched

Leave a Reply

