A Gift

That thing in my soul
That cries out at injustice
And rejoices when a true pastor
One called to speak
As a representative
Of the God Who made me
Stands us and speaks
With authority
About the things that matter
That thing in my soul
Is the Holy Spirit
Verifying that I’m
In the presence of God
That I’m in the presence
Of the authority of God
The same authority
With which He spoke
The world into being
Out of nothing
He spoke humanity
Into existence forming
Us out of dust
He also made
That thing in my soul
Is the greatest gift
I can never deserve
I can never earn
Like the place set aside for me
After my last breath
That is love
That is incredible
Beyond all measure

Leave a Reply

