Grief, Yet Joy

The phone call comes
Jesus has taken her home
And grief crashes over me
Like an ocean wave
My tears flow and yet
There is joy in the end
There is praise inside me
Jesus hold me close
She’s with you now
In her true home
Though my eyes
Hurt from crying
And my heart is heavy
There is joy for her
She is home
Wrapped in Jesus’ arms
Crowned and called daughter
I’m broken, grief-cracked
And yet there is still joy
Joy for her
To be with God
In the place
That is our true home

The part that isn’t a poem:

About an hour ago, my dad called. My grandma passed away in the night. God called her home.

Leave a Reply

