Squeezed

Squeezed tight in my hand
Held so secure no
Light can get in
This thing I will not
Let go of, I’ll hold
Tight to so no one
Else can see it
With all my might
I will hold tight
To this one thing
Oh no, there’s a problem
Holding this thing means
I can’t hold onto
Anything else
While I squeeze this tight
If I want to use my hand
I have to let it go
And not squeeze tight
To this thing
Finger by finger
I let it go
Until my hand
Is open
Degree by degree
I tip my hand
Until the thing
Slips to the ground
No longer squeezed tight
In my hand

Leave a Reply

