Peeling

Peeling away the armored layers
Revealing the rawness
The hurtable parts
Of who I am
It’s a painful process
That often leaves
Me completely breathless
Exposed in the most
Vulnerable way imaginable
To take off all the constructs
That I’ve spent years
Layering in front of me
Hoping people won’t look
Too hard past the me
I choose to give them
I’ve worked to perfect
The art of giving enough
That they think they have
All of me, when the truth is
Very few have that much
That utter vulnerability
That access to my whole real me
In the intangible inner parts
That beyond God
Who lives in me
So few have ever seen
That is the transparency
The level of honesty
That God is working me toward
To peel away the armor
I put on, my camouflage
And trade it only for
The armor of God.
His armor is more than sufficient
To protect all of who
He has made me to be
Let it peel away

Leave a comment